How Nudge calculates your social shares
The way Nudge collects and presents shares can sometimes appear counter-intuitive.
When you view your campaign's shares between two dates; Nudge will take the total shares at the the later date, and subtract shares we had collected at the earliest date. For example, if you check your campaign between the 1st and 10th of January, Nudge will see that:
- On the 10th, you had 10 Facebook shares, and 5 Pinterest shares, giving us 15 total shares.
- On the 1st, you had 4 Facebook shares, and 1 Pinterest share, giving us 5 total shares.
Using this, we do: 15 - 5 = 10. So, you will see 10 shares in your Dashboard between these dates.
What about shares collected before my content was added to Nudge?
If you'd like to see your total share count, you will need to select the very first day your piece of content went live in Nudge. If you do this, Nudge will show you the total shares, regardless of the difference between the two dates selected.
Why does it show a high number between these 2 days, but not another?
If you do have the first day selected in your campaign - as is often the case when you first add a URL to Nudge - the Dashboard will show you the full share count, this can be a very high number. If you then select two days not including the first day, we will show you the difference, as explained above.
How does Nudge deal with negative shares?
Occasionally, social networks will remove shares for content. If Nudge sees that a network has dropped it's shares into the negatives, we treat this as 0 shares for this period. This is because the share count should be a recording of total shares that have occurred.